Driving while intoxicated results in both criminal and administrative penalties in Missouri. A DWI conviction can result in fines, jail time and significant personal and professional cost.
Drivers facing a DWI court date in Missouri should understand the potential consequences and seek legal advocacy.
Initial DWI penalties
For a first-time DWI in which you had measured blood alcohol content of at least 0.08%, you could receive:
- A 90-day license suspension which the court can shorten to 30 days with the installation of an ignition interlock device at your expense
- Minimum of 48 hours in jail (five-day minimum for BAC over 0.20%)
- Up to $1,000 in fines
Missouri is an implied consent state, so if you refuse to take a sobriety test you will lose your license for one year. If you were driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the offense, you will receive two points on your driving record and lose your commercial license for one year.
Regardless of how much time has passed since a previous conviction, each subsequent DWI conviction results in a one-year license suspension. If your second offense occurs within five years of your first, you could lose your license for five years. Three DWI offenses result in a 10-year license revocation.
Minimum jail sentences for subsequent DWI convictions are as follows:
- 30 days for the second offense with the potential option for a shortened sentence with community service
- 60 days for the third offense
- Two years for four or more offenses
Drivers receive up to $2,000 in fines for the second DWI conviction. With a third offense, fines could top out at $10,000.
The penalties for DWI in Missouri vary substantially depending on the details of your case.
Depending on the circuit court covering the area where the arrest took place, you could qualify for a suspended sentence by agreeing to court-ordered drug and alcohol treatment.